ECE Advisory Board

Launched in 2012, the Advisory Board (AB) serves as a bridge between the ECE Department and its key industry affiliates to facilitate regular communications and interaction through annual events to elevate the relevance of our curriculum and research programs to the industry. 

Specifically, the objectives of the AB include:

  • Seeking professional advice and feedback from the industry on our curriculum and how we could better prepare our students for their career.
  • Reviewing the UG and PG curriculum and courses.
  • Examining new educational ideas and new curriculum developments.
  • Promoting closer academic / industry collaboration in UG and PG education through various channels such as internships, final year   project / thesis co-supervision and consultancy.
  • Promoting collaborative research activities between the department and industry.
  • Jointly exploring call for proposals and funding opportunities.
  • Serving as the judge on the ECE Final Year Project Industry Day.

Companies in both technical and non-technical fields and academics are invited to join the AB, so we can have a comprehensive understanding of the changing needs of different industry sectors related to ECE. Through the AB, we aim to build stronger, long-term relationships with the industry and gain valuable insights into the requirements of the employers and our society. Board members are required to attend an annual meeting in early May every year.

Members from the Industry (as of Oct 2019)

Company Board Member
ASM Pacific Technology Ltd.

Mr. Peter NG

Vice President, Technology


Dr. Justin CHUANG

VP & Group Director Communications Technologies


Dr. Eddy CHIU

Senior Manager


Dr. Stanley LAM

Principal Engineer

CLP Holdings Limited

Dr. Jeanne NG

Director, CLP Research Institute


Mr. Frank WANG


Globaltec Electronics Ltd.

Mr. Herbert NG

Managing Director

GP Batteries International Limited

Mr. Edward LAM

Head of Lithium Research

Guangdong Hiway Integrated Circuit Technology (Hong Kong) Co. Ltd.

Dr. Edwin KWONG

Managing Director

Hong Kong Telecommunications (HKT) Limited

Mr. Carlson CHU

Senior Vice President, Technology Strategy and Development

Hong Kong Telecommunications (HKT) Limited

Dr. Allen WONG

Head of Product & Business Development, Consumer Group


Mr. Eric NG

Principal Engineer


Mr. Matthew LEUNG

Director, Hong Kong Research Center

Infineon Technologies

Mr. Jerome LEE

Application Manager

Kun Hang Group

Dr. Daniel NG


Micom Tech Limited

Mr. Victor NG

Managing Director

Robosense Inc

Mr. Yalin REN

General Manager

Rohde & Schwarz HK Ltd.

Mr. Frank WONG

Managing Director

Rohde & Schwarz HK Ltd.

Mr. Nick TANG

Engineering and Training Manager

RS Components Ltd.

Ms. Yan WAI

Community and Outreach Manager, Greater China

RS Components Ltd.

Mr. Clarence TONG

Senior HR Business Partner

Shenzhen Runlite Technology Co., Ltd.

Mr. Alex LEE

Chief Marketing Officer


Mr. Jeremy CHAU



Members from Local Universities

University Name
City University of Hong Kong Prof. Ping LI
City University of Hong Kong Prof. Michael TSE
The Chinese University of Hong Kong Prof. Soung LIEW
The University of Hong Kong Prof. Ronnie HUI


Members from International Universities 

Separate annual meetings are scheduled with international AB members

University Name
MIT Prof. Charlie SODINI
Columbia University Prof. Julie HIRSCHBERG
Imperial College Prof. Kin LEUNG