ECE Advisory Board

Launched in 2012, the Advisory Board (AB) serves as a bridge between the ECE Department and its key industry affiliates to facilitate regular communications and interaction through annual events to elevate the relevance of our curriculum and research programs to the industry. 

Specifically, the objectives of the AB include:

  • Seeking professional advice and feedback from the industry on our curriculum and how we could better prepare our students for their career.
  • Reviewing the UG and PG curriculum and courses.
  • Examining new educational ideas and new curriculum developments.
  • Promoting closer academic / industry collaboration in UG and PG education through various channels such as internships, final year   project / thesis co-supervision and consultancy.
  • Promoting collaborative research activities between the department and industry.
  • Jointly exploring call for proposals and funding opportunities.
  • Serving as the judge on the ECE Final Year Project Industry Day.

Companies in both technical and non-technical fields and academics are invited to join the AB, so we can have a comprehensive understanding of the changing needs of different industry sectors related to ECE. Through the AB, we aim to build stronger, long-term relationships with the industry and gain valuable insights into the requirements of the employers and our society. Board members are required to attend an annual meeting in early May every year.


IAB Liaison Faculty

Prof. Andrew Wing On POON, ECE Department Head

Prof. Chik Patrick YUE, Integrated Circuit Design Center Director


Members from the Industry

(Alphabetical Listing by Company Name)

Dr. Christopher Cuong NGUYEN (HKUST ECE former faculty)

President & CEO

Alibaba Group

Dr. Xiaoning QI

Vice President


Dr. Yipeng WANG (HKUST ECE Alumni)

Senior Staff Engineer


Dr. Justin CHUANG (HKUST ECE former faculty)

VP & Group Director Communications Technologies

BMTPow Ltd

Mr. Wylie SO (HKUST ECE Alumni)

Managing Director

Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD)

Mr. M. B. Michael LEE

Electrical & Mechanical Engr/Electrical, Mechanical & Bldg Services Technology Dev /1


Mr. H. W. Sirius CHAN

Project Officer

Faraconix Technologies

Dr. Chi Y. LAW

Chief Executive Officer and Chairman


Mr. Alex NG

Director, Hong Kong Semiconductor Device and Packaging Lab, Hong Kong Research Center, Huawei

Department of Electronics and Electrical Engineering

Southern University of Science and Technology

Prof. Perry Ping SHUM

Chair Professor

Qualcomm Research China

Dr. Hao XU

Head, Qualcomm Research China

Rohde & Schwarz Hong Kong Limited

Mr. Frank WONG

Managing Director

SG Micro (Hong Kong) Limited

Mr. Ricky MAK

Design Director

Sinovation Venture

Mr. Jeremy CHAU (HKUST ECE Alumni)


StarFive Technology Co., Ltd.

Mr. Thomas XU

Founder, Chairman and CEO

SUGA International Holdings Limited

Dr. Alfred NG

Chief Executive Officer

Tecky Academy

Mr. Alex LAU

Programming Instructor


Members from International Universities 

Separate annual meetings are scheduled with international AB members

MIT Prof. Charlie SODINI
Columbia University Prof. Julia HIRSCHBERG
Imperial College Prof. Kin LEUNG