Prof. Kei May LAU Named the First-ever Woman Winner of IET J J Thomson Medal for Electronics

Prof. Kei May LAU is the first-ever woman winner of the J J Thomson Medal for Electronics, one of the Institution of Engineering and Technology’s (IET) Achievement Awards.

The IET Achievement Awards, which recognise some of the world’s top engineering talent, acknowledge individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of science, engineering and technology in any sector, either through research and development in their respective technical field or through their leadership of an enterprise.

Prof. LAU received the award for fundamental work in compound semiconductor materials and device physics. 

Professor Danielle George MBE, IET President, said: “We are honoured to present these talented individuals with our Achievement Awards. They have each excelled in their professions and have made a vast contribution as pioneers of important areas in the engineering and technology industries. They should all be very proud of their achievements – they are amazing difference makers.”

The winners, who were nominated by their peers, and selected by a panel of IET judges, are leading engineers and technologists across the globe.

Prof. LAU received bachelor and master degrees in physics from University of Minnesota, and PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from Rice University.  She joined HKUST in 2000 and established the Photonics Technology Center for R&D effort in III-V and wide band-gap semiconductor materials and devices.  Prof. LAU is a Fellow of the IEEE, the Optical Society (OSA).  She was the 2020 recipient of the OSA Nick Holonyak Jr. Award.

Related Links


Prof. Kei May LAU's Biography


Prof. Kei May LAU
Prof. Kei May LAU named the first-ever woman winner of the IET JJ Thomson Medal for Electronics, for fundamental work in compound semiconductor materials and device physics


What to read next